Dayton Literary Peace Prize Winners For 2019 Announced

Oct 8, 2019

The Dayton Literary Peace Price  has been awared to authors who wrote books on a young white supremacist's awakening and on Iranian refugees in Sweden. 

Eli Saslow's "Rising Out of Hatred" won for nonfiction and Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde's "What We Owe" won for fiction. Runners-up are Wil Haygood's "Tigerland," about an inner city Ohio school's 1969 athletic triumphs, and Richard Powers' Pulitzer Prize-winning "The Overstory," about human impact on forests, in fiction. Winners receive 10 thousand dollars each and runners-up 5 thousand each. The group earlier named native American writer N. Scott Momaday for its lifetime achievement award. The awards celebrate literature's power to promote peace and understanding, and grew out of the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia.