Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Local Election Results In A Nutshell

Democrats won five of the six contested Franklin County seats on the ballot Tuesday - two county commission seats, the treasurer, the clerk of courts, and the recorder. Incumbent Republican prosecutor Ron O'Brien beat Democratic challenger Zach Klein, while Democrat Dallas Baldwin ran for Sheriff unopposed. O'Brien and county Auditor Clarence Mingo remain the only non-judicial elected Republicans at the county level. John O'Grady and Kevin Boyce won the two open commission seats. Local voters approved school levies in the Columbus, Hilliard, Bexley and Westerville districts. Voters reject school money issues in the Big Walnut, Northridge, Southwest Licking, Licking Heights and Amanda Clearcreek districts. 71 percent of Columbus voters approved the Central Ohio Transit Authority's ten year, quarter cent sales tax renewal levy. The levy will maintain and improve operations. Overwhelming majorities of Columbus voters approved the four issues comprising the 950 million dollar municipal bond package to fund new water and sewer lines, road improvements, and police and fire projects. The city also has plans for new recreation centers and other parks projects.

Jim has been with WCBE since 1996. Before that he worked as a reporter at another Columbus radio station, and for three newspapers in Southwest Florida.