Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Baker, Gibbs Will Not Run Again For City Schools Board


As the deadline for to submit ballot petitions passed Wednesday, it appeared there are more changes ahead for the Columbus Board of Education. 

Two long-time members have decided to not run again.

After a dozen years on the school board, half of that time as board president, Gary Baker will step down at the end of this year. He did not file petitions to run again in November, saying that “12 years is a long time to serve in any one office.” W. Shawna Gibbs will also step aside at the end of 2019. Gibbs was first elected in 2007.

Incumbent James Ragland, who was appointed last year after board member Dominic Paretti resigned, was the only candidate to file to run for the remaining two-years of Paretti’s term.


Incumbent Eric Brown filed to run for one of the four remaining open seats. A former county and Ohio Supreme Court judge, was first elected in 2015. Jennifer Adair, who was seated in January to fill the remaining year of former board member Mary Jo Hudson, will also be on the ballot. Adair is the Equal Employment Opportunity program manager with the Ohio Department of Administrative Services


Three challengers have also entered the race. Educational consultant Tina Pierce narrowly lost her race for a board seat in 2015. Kimberly Mason and Carol Beckerle have also filed to run in November.


There will be no primary school board contest.

Related Content