Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Results From Local Races For Ohio House And Senate


Central Ohio Democrats did well in Tuesday's Ohio House races. 

David Leland and Bernadine Kennedy Kent easily held on to their seats in the 22nd and 25th districts respectively. Democrats won seats in the 17th 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st, 24th and 26th House districts. The lone Republican winner from the region, Laura Lanese, held on to her 23rd district seat, defeating Democrat Russell Harris 56-44 percent.  In local Ohio Senate races, Democratic representative Hearcel Craig will transition to the Senate, winning the seat of term-limited Charleta Tavares in the 15th district. In the 19th district, Republican representative Andrew Brenner will transition to the Senate after defeating Democrat Louise Valentine. In unofficial results, fewer than 400 votes separate Republican Anne Gonzalez from Democrat Tina Maharath. 

A native of Chicago, naturalized citizen of Cincinnati and resident of Columbus, Alison attended Earlham College and the Ohio State University. She has equal passion for Midwest history, hockey and Slavic poetry.
Related Content