WCBE Header Banner 20190208
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Baldwin, Boyce Win Franklin County Primary Races


Franklin County Sheriff Zach Scott was unseated in Tuesday's primary, less than six months after losing to another Democrat in Columbus' Mayoral contest. Former Columbus Police lieutenant Dallas Baldwin, running in his first election but with the backing of the Franklin County Democratic Party, took 52 percent of the vote. Also backed by the party, term-limited state representative Kevin Boyce beat Franklin County Commissioner Paula Brooks, who incurred the ire of the  party when she backed Scott in the Mayoral race against party favorite Andy Ginther last year.  Boyce will face Republican Terry Boyd in November. Boyd last year lost a close race in the Mayoral primary. A third Democrat from the county party's "Unity Ticket" won last night - first time candidate Danny O'Connor beat County Recorder Terry Brown with 56 percent of the vote.

Related Content